PR With Professional Pilots

Posted: February 18, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,
Photo Credit: Matthew T Rader via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Matthew T Rader via Compfight cc

What’s a typical week like?  A typical week consists of flying 3 or 4 legs a day. Occasionally we have to deal with weather or mechanical issues. All of our flight planning is done for us, but every now and then we may have to speak with our dispatcher about adding fuel or alternate routes around weather.

Tell me about a project you worked on that you are especially proud of.  I’m not really working on any projects right now unless you want to count doing an online course to renew my CFI.

What do you do to keep current in the PR industry?  I continually read union emails in order to answer my family and friends questions about our bankruptcy and merger with US Air to keep current in the PR industry.

What do you wish you would have known before starting your career in PR?  I wish I would’ve known the crazy schedule before I got into this job!

How important is writing in your career?  I never write

What three tips would you offer someone just starting out in PR?  Three tips: always be open to new experiences. Always be respectful to coworkers (it’s a small industry and you can get a reputation quick). Most importantly have fun! If you no longer love what you’re doing its time to do something else!

After interviewing this person, are you (the student, not the practitioner) more or less likely to want to have a career in PR? Why?  I interviewed Jessica Campbell who is a professional pilot who fly’s for American Eagle.  She does not do much PR and does not have a LinkedIn or Twitter, I do not want to have a career in PR because I am not one to share my feelings with people.  Although I would consider being a Professional Pilot not because public relations is not a big part of there lives but because I’ve always been interested in the aviation world and might consider doing it as a career some day.

Comments
  1. shanes331945 says:

    This is great. I would also have to agree that I’m really not one for PR. But if my job calls for it at times I will. This blog does a really great job of showing a first hand account and experience of successful airline pilot. And she is right if it isn’t something you love it wont last.

Leave a Reply

